Reviews of Yesteryear: Panyo Panyo Di Gi Charat

Di Gi Charat has very little as far as story goes, like just about every zany comedy I’ve seen. The story that it does have is that there’s a planet called Charat and its Princess, Dejiko, decides to bring happiness to everyone because she read a book with a similar premise. Unknown to her, an evil entity called Deji Devil and his companion, Piyoko, are trying to bring sadness to everyone. Hilarity ensues.

Broccoli entertainment is very skilled with zany comedy and it shows in series like Galaxy Angel. That being said, Di Gi Charat is not nearly as funny as Galaxy Angel. To its credit, it is a funny series. It also has what might just be the funniest chase scene I’ve ever seen. The main problem is that the episodes are really hit or miss. Most are funny but some are just stupid. Without going through every episode again and actually taking a tally, I would estimate that about a sixth of the episodes are misses which still leaves forty episodes worth watching but is something of a problem.

I’m not going to say much about the art Simply because I hate the art direction they take. I’m sure that it’s competently done for what it is, but I really don’t care for it. The voice acting is a bit over the top and kind of grating. I know that Sawashiro Miyuki, Sanada Asami, and Enomoto Atsuko are all capable voice actresses so I’m going to say that this is probably the director’s fault.

I think a lot of what held Broccoli back on this project is that Di Gi Charat is a family comedy. So they couldn’t use a lot of their more complex, adult humour that made Galaxy Angel so amazing.

I’m going to give the series a yuri factor of 4/10. It has no yuri, but you could easily interpret the relationship between the girls that way. Although they’re supposed to be little kids so I don’t know why you would want to.

My final rating is a 6/10, above average. The episodes are pretty funny overall and some are even clever. The problem is that they stick to the same theme for four episodes and sometimes the theme simply isn’t funny. It’s also held back by the art and the sub-par voice acting. It’s still worth watching, especially since each episode is only eight minutes but it isn’t Broccoli’s best work and there are a lot of better comedic anime.

I took it a little easy on this one since it is intended for kids, but by the same token I can’t review it as a part of its intended audience so it is from an adult’s perspective. 

Leave a Reply

