Is Completion Necessary?

This week I thought I’d address a question that I personally get quite a lot, usually when I put up a review of something long that I clearly did not enjoy like Gintama, even though I didn’t think it was bad, or Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu. Namely, “why did you watch the whole thing if you didn’t like it?”

While it is true that you really don’t have to watch an anime to completion to know whether or not it appeals to you, there are three reasons I elect to. Even in cases where it’s really difficult for me to slog through the series.

The first one is that I am watching these anime with the intent of doing a review and I feel like I would be remiss in that goal if I were to leave the series unfinished. I couldn’t give you all a clear picture of why I didn’t like it or of whether or not you might if I were to write up a review about how I watched a whole five episodes in a series that had over a hundred. Plus, I feel like that would get boring to read really quickly. So, I get through it. Honestly, if I were just watching a series on my own with no intention of reviewing it, I would probably drop it after it became apparent that I wasn’t going to like it.

The second reason is somewhat related to the first. I do review a lot of these by request. I get a lot over at MAL or on the Afterschool Fun Time forum at Zetaboards. I used to get a lot on Gamespot before I quit going to that site. These are requests from you, my ever so amazing readers. Some of them are really amazing, Rainbow, Love Live, Doki Doki Precure and a lot of other awesome series were requested reviews. there have certainly been bad series too. Baka to Test, Highschool of the Dead, Love Hina, and many others were all requests. Those aforementioned long series were both requests as well, actually. I feel like it would be a disservice to you if I were to take that request, watch a small amount of it and then quit.That’s also a part of why I’m always completely candid about my opinions even when I know that a lot of people will disagree with me. Because you guys took all the trouble to make requests and, theoretically, you did so because you want to hear my thoughts on a series. Not because you want to hear me parrot the popular opinion.

The third reason has less to do with you guys and more to do with me. Frankly, I don’t want to give people an easy excuse to dismiss what I have to say out of hand. We all know how the Internet works. If I discussed Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu and I’d only gotten through a hundred of its episodes, rather than all 110, there would be plenty of people who used that as an excuse to say that I don’t know what I’m talking about because I didn’t see the “brilliant” way that the ending brought everything together or something to that effect.

I’m sure a lot of you are reading this and thinking “they’re going to find an excuse to dismiss you anyway.” Which is probably true. They’ll say I’m a Deutsche eccentric who doesn’t understand the youth of today or that my academic studies of literature have rendered me unable to have fun (just ignore all those series that I’ve greatly enjoyed) or that I liked a thing they didn’t like/ didn’t like a thing they liked and therefore my opinions on all things are invalid or that I probably ate too many jelly babies and was overly hyper. Still, I’d rather not give them something so easy as “he didn’t even watch the whole thing.”

And those, my friends, are the big three reasons that I’ll slog though series that I’d really rather not be watching. I’m not going to judge anyone else for their decisions in that regard, but I hope you all have a better understanding now of why I do watch every series I review in its entirety.

One thought on “Is Completion Necessary?

  1. Ruki

    I’m usually the same. I don’t like to drop a series just because I don’t like it because I feel like I have a moral duty towards myself (and the series) to finish what I’ve started. I mean, come on, I even finished watching BroCon which was the shittiest shit I’ve ever seen. I used to do that even before I had a blog to review them on. I mean, yes, I dropped some series, but mainly because I just literally could not stay still and watch. Maybe because I wasn’t in the mood or something, because, lately, I started picking them up again (hello, Kill la Kill).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

