First Annual Reader Awards: And the Votes say…

Okay, everyone. Two weeks ago I said that I’d put up your choices for the awards. So, this week I’m doing that. Keep in mind, those people who did vote didn’t see all the anime I reviewed. So, these are going to lean pretty heavily towards the better known anime that I watched.Now, let’s look at your choices. Whether I agree with them or not.

Moffat Award for worst series/OVA: Corpse Party: Tortured Souls. 

Yeah, this one is bad. As a work of horror, it fails pretty badly, being funny more often than frightening. Not my pick, but I can see why it was yours.

Simone Award for best serious series/OVA: Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch.

This is another one I can understand. Code Geass did a lot right and gave us a compelling story. Incidentally, I will be reviewing the second series in either late March or early April. So, that’ll be fun for all of us.

Abrams Award for worst film: Hetalia: Paint it White.

Here’s one we agreed on. This film was just bad with all of its good scenes being lazily lifted from the main series.

Miyazaki Award for best film: Spirited Away

Here’s another one we completely agree on. This film gave us a grand adventure with strong characters and was just Studio Ghibli at their best.

Macfarlane award for worst comedy: Hetalia: Paint it White.

I guess you guys disliked that film a lot more than I did, because I can think of a couple worse comedies I watched, but this is all about you and your choice was Paint it White.

Pratchett Award for best comedy: Gintama

I can’t really agree on this one. Gintama is not my type of comedy. But, at the same time, this choice isn’t surprising, since the series is popular.

Meyer Award for worst romance: Love Hina.

This one doesn’t really surprise me either. After all, it’s very close to my own pick.

Kanemaki Award for best romance: Yuru Yuri: San Hai.

I’m not really sure which pairing you all liked the most from this series. Maybe it was Sakurako & Himawari. Maybe it was Chinatsu & Yui. Maybe it was a poly-amorous coven. Whatever the case, San Hai was your choice for best romance.

Anno Award for worst cast: Hetalia: Paint it White.

On one hand, I don’t think this series has a bad cast at all. But, on the other hand, the film does kind of make it look like it does. either way, this is your choice I had mine two weeks ago.

Moore Award for best cast: Gintama

Well then… I guess that’s a thing.

Bendis Award for worst conflict: Corpse Party: Tortured Souls. 

In terms of execution, this conflict is pretty bad. I can see why you picked it.

Claremont Award for best conflict: Code Geass Hangyaku no Lelouch

I can understand this one too. Code Geass was really good about setting up both a conflict of ideals and one of this small resistance force against a major power.

Liefeld Award for worst visuals: Corpse Party: Tortured Souls

This was one of my two choices too. With overblown gore effects that are exaggerated to the point of silliness and ridiculous monsters. It just looks bad. Glad we agree on that.

Urbino Award for best visuals: Spirited Away.

Again, we agree. Also one of my choices this year. The visuals in this are Studio Ghibli at their finest. Beautiful details and a fantastically designed world.

Spencer Award for worst acting: Corpse Party: Tortured Souls.

I don’t disagree about this being badly done. These characters were bland and the actors, though they do their best, can’t really make them sound compelling.

Sir Stewart Award for best acting: Yahari ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru.

The series does have some strong performances. Can’t really fault you for picking it.

Perry Award for worst music: Corpse Party: Tortured Souls

This one got a lot of the negative reader awards this year.

Kloss Award for best music: Gintama.

I’m just not going to say anything on this one. After all, this is about your picks.

So, there’s how you all voted. I guess you really liked Gintama, Spirited Away & Code Geass and really hated Corpse Party & Hetalia: Paint it white. I can largely agree on four of those.

One thought on “First Annual Reader Awards: And the Votes say…

  1. Some Tool

    I still don’t really get why people like Code Geass. It’s really dumb! But then I didn’t vote so I guess I have no right to complain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

